Benjamin Gabay

Chapter 2: Recruitment at Germinal, a story of process

Following a net increase in the number of applications and the observation that few people have the level to be recruited at Germinal, we decided to write this little article to explain the profiles we are looking for, how we recruit them and what we expect from them!

Benjamin Gabay
Recruitment
Last Man Standing

I. The history of our recruitment process!

Our first recruitment

The first time we recruited, it was Victor (of whom we are very proud)! We met him in the Growth France community that I created. A short interview later (he was cool), we recruited him! And that's how we recruited the other 2 or 3 first people who followed. As you can guess, this "process" having its limits (we don't recruit someone because he's cool, it's pretty obvious now) we had to change our way of doing things!

Change of process!

We modify our process by creating an Excel test that can be downloaded here! On the program:

  • Database Reprocessing
  • A little copywriting
  • General Culture Questionnaire on Growth

Results of the operation: really mixed. First of all, few people are able to really reprocess an Excel database (it's a shame by the way, because I still think it's important!). The test also highlighted the candidates' Growth deficiencies, especially on the "general culture" part. The problem? It certainly filtered out people who didn't belong here, but also very good elements. The positive side of all this? Some people found the test (which had disqualified them) so unfair that they expressed an extra motivation! In the end, they were excellent recruits! Our feat: to turn away a candidate who had been taken in more than 14 other startups before reversing our decision! He is one of the best today.

Balance sheet!

From this story we get two things out of it:

  • From our first method of recruitment: that the team approach is paramount.
  • From our second method: that a simple Excel test made up of questions does not allow us to identify interesting candidates, but that some show unlimited motivation and that this motivation must be used!

Finally Team Fit + Motivation! It's something interesting and very Germinal genetically.

II. Process 3: Winner? Or how to apply for a job at Germinal!

Since the beginning, we've had a few timeless items at Germinal:

  • Give everyone a chance
  • ignore the CV
  • ignore education
  • focus on the ability to learn very quickly
  • give preference to applications from people who have already carried out "side-projects" or have already undertaken them in the broad sense (associations/companies, etc.)
  • Know how to code (HTML CSS Javascript or Python)

The purpose of the test:

  • Test landing page content writing skills
  • Test landing page integration skills (knowing how to respect a design)
  • Knowing how to set up a tracking analytics system
  • Know how to write attractive and flawless advertising content
  • Have already set up campaigns on Facebook Ads and Google Ads

The problem is:

These skills are often the prerogative of entrepreneurs and unfortunately there is no training that specifically trains for execution!

Are you a growth confirmed or a beginner?

Are you a senior already? It's very simple => Welcome to the Jungle. We will contact you as soon as possible and offer you to come and test your skills with us! At Germinal we only believe what we see ;)

Are you still a junior? Germinal wants to give everyone a chance. We're also interested in your learning curve and your motivation. We've prepared a little guide just for you!

End of process

When you apply, we will contact you very quickly for a 30-minute interview. If we find you sufficiently motivated and capable of taking the test, you will be invited to come and work at our premises for 5 days (paid) to test your skills.

If you get on well with the team and you're up to speed => WELCOME! :)

Don't hesitate, by the way, to send me an email (benjamin@germinal.io) to give me feedback and help us improve our process!

Chapitre 2 : Le recrutement chez Germinal, une histoire de process

Suite à une augmentation nette du nombre de candidatures et du constat que peu de gens ont suffisamment le niveau pour être recruté chez Germinal, nous avons décidé d’écrire ce petit article afin d’expliquer les profils que nous recherchons, comment nous les recrutons et ce que nous attendons d’eux !

Benjamin Gabay
Recrutement
Last Man Standing

I. L’histoire de notre process de recrutement !

Notre premier recrutement

La première fois que nous avons recruté, c’était Victor (dont nous sommes d’ailleurs très fiers) ! Nous l’avons rencontré dans le cadre de la communauté Growth France que j’ai créée. Un bref entretien plus tard (il était cool), nous le recrutions ! Et c’est ainsi que nous avons recruté les 2 à 3 autres premières personnes qui ont suivi. Comme vous pouvez le deviner, ce “process” ayant ses limites (on ne recrute pas quelqu’un parce qu’il est cool, c’est plutôt évident maintenant) nous avons dû changer notre manière de faire !

Changement de process !

Nous modifions notre process en créant un test Excel téléchargeable ici ! Au programme :

  • Retraitement de base de données
  • Un peu de copywriting
  • Questionnaire de culture générale sur le Growth

Bilan de l’opération : vraiment mitigé. Premièrement, peu de personnes sont capables de vraiment retraiter une base de données Excel (c’est fort dommage d’ailleurs, car je continue de penser que c’est important !). Le test mettait également en avant les lacunes en Growth des candidats, notamment sur la partie “culture générale”. Le problème ? Il filtrait certes les personnes qui n’avaient pas leur place chez nous, mais également de très bons éléments. Le positif dans tout ça ? C’est que certains trouvaient le test (qui les avait donc disqualifiés) tellement injuste qu’ils exprimaient un surcroît de motivation ! Ils furent finalement d’excellentes recrues ! Notre fait d’armes : éconduire un candidat qui a été pris dans plus de 14 autres startups avant de revenir sur notre décision ! C’est aujourd’hui un des meilleurs.

Bilan !

De cette histoire nous en retirons 2 choses :

  • De notre première méthode de recrutement : que le fit d’équipe est primordial
  • De notre seconde méthode : qu’un simple test Excel fait de questions ne permet pas d’identifier des candidats intéressants, mais que certains font preuve d’une motivation sans limite et que cette motivation doit être utilisée !

Finalement Fit d’équipe + Motivation ! C’est quelque chose d’intéressant et de très Germinal génétiquement.

II. Le Process 3 : Winner ? Où comment candidater chez Germinal !

Depuis le début, nous avons quelques indémodables chez Germinal :

  • Donner une chance à tout le monde
  • ne pas prêter attention au CV
  • ne pas prêter attention aux études
  • miser sur la capacité à apprendre très rapidement
  • privilégier les candidatures de personnes ayant déjà réalisé des “side-projects” ou déjà entrepris au sens large (association / entreprises, etc.)
  • Savoir coder (HTML CSS Javascript ou Python)

L’objectif du test :

  • Tester les compétences en rédaction de contenu de landing page
  • Tester les compétences en intégration de landing page (savoir respecter un design)
  • Savoir mettre en place d’un tracking analytics
  • Savoir rédiger du contenu publicitaire attrayant et sans faute
  • Avoir déjà paramétré des campagnes sur Facebook Ads et Google Ads

Le problème :

Ces compétences sont souvent l’apanage d’entrepreneurs et il n’y a pas malheureusement pas de formation qui forment spécifiquement à l’exécution !

Tu es growth confirmé ou débutant ?

Tu es déjà senior ? C’est très simple => Welcome to the Jungle. Nous te recontacterons dans les plus brefs délais et te proposerons de venir tester tes skills chez nous ! Chez Germinal on ne croit que ce qu’on voit ! ;)

Tu es encore junior ? Germinal veut donner une chance à tout le monde. Ce qui nous intéresse également, c’est ta courbe d’apprentissage et ta motivation. On a préparé un petit guide à cet effet rien que pour toi !

Fin du process

Lorsque tu poseras ta candidature, nous prendrons très rapidement contact avec toi pour un entretien de 30 minutes. Si nous te trouvons suffisamment motivé et capable d’effectuer le test, tu seras conviés à venir travailler dans nos locaux pendant 5 jours (rémunérés) afin de tester l’ensemble de tes compétences.

Si tu t’entends bien avec l’équipe et que tu es montés en compétence => WELCOME ! :)

N’hésitez pas, d’ailleurs, à m’envoyer un email (benjamin@germinal.io) pour me donner des feedbacks et nous aider à améliorer notre process !