Benjamin Gabay

Chapter 1: Germinal, a millimetre-sized work organisation

In recent years a truly streamlined organisation in the field of services has been possible in the digital economy.

Benjamin Gabay
Automation
machine growth

Do not reinvent the existing

At Germinal, we're killing ourselves by not reinventing what already exists! Our goal is to link what already exists. We're not Gutenberg, but we proceed in the same way.

the process is new but the materials are not

Fast Rewind: He developed a process that gave rise to modern typography and distinguishes itself from the old methods by rationalizing and harmonizing the various techniques. To do this, he "only" reuses elements that already existed! In other words, the process is new but the materials are not. This is how he introduced the printing press, which allows uniform and fast printing!

Anyway, that's what we do! We optimize production and to do this we link elements together in 2 ways:

  • By a millimetric organization of the work
  • By software linking execution and methodology

A scientific organisation of work as a framework for thinking

Extremely practical for the structuring of production chains, the implementation of a scientific organisation of work has proved its worth over the last century. Taylorism and Fordism are best known for the advent of mass production of physical commodities. The direct effects of Taylorism were the increase in wages that allowed workers to afford the car it produced while reducing their working hours. Its deleterious effects are also and above all well known. That is why it must be overcome.

Que s'apelorio Germinalism 😆

On a more serious note, for some years now a real organisation of work in the field of services has been possible in the digital economy. All digital products are powerful enough to be connected to each other via APIs and artificial intelligence is (just) starting to be sufficient to obtain interesting results.

Germinal is fully in line with this trend. We don't want to reinvent the wheel, to code what already exists (besides it's an unfortunate current trend), we want to intelligently link production tools so as to :

  • overboost test production
  • guarantee a quality standard.

That's all well and good, but how do we do it?

Well, then we get equipped and we execute! How do we do that? By creating a digital exo-skeleton.

We equip ourselves by creating an exoskeleton!

To equip ourselves, we create an exo-skeleton. That's the role of Maxime - notre CTO - et his team. His perimeter? Automate what's possible to allow more time for human reflection.

  • Almost automated website creation. This page, for example, is a perfect example of a Germinal production. It was realized in 13h. This includes design, copywriting (content) and integration. By the end of the year, our ambition is to halve the production time. 
  • Automated and structured launch of advertisements on the main advertising networks. 
  • Automated configuration of analytics and conversion points to measure the effectiveness of our actions
  • Reconciliation of data between Analytics and advertising agencies for reporting. 
  • Creation of a system to understand exactly the data-driven personae!
  • Creation of a "design system" to obtain unique and fast designs without constantly reworking identical elements. The goal here is not to think in "screens" or "pages" but in a system of components. We'll write an article especially about this!
  • Automated email sending
  • Sequenced and automated sending of offline mailings
  • and so on

Everything is currently under construction, but we are currently evaluating the speed gains at about 8 hours on a facebook campaign launch, 8 hours on reporting, about ten hours on landing page creation and design and 1h30 on tracking.

The exoskeleton will be finished in its first version at the end of the year.

For the customer, it is therefore not only a substantial acceleration of its execution, but it is also the guarantee of having a quality standard.

We estimate that the exoskeleton will be finished in its first version by the end of the year. This first version is entirely built in a simple Google spreadsheet to speed up production and remain agile. It is only an MVP.

We link the automations

That's where Paco and his team come in. His goal? In addition to ensuring that all the services provided by Germinal are carried out correctly, his role is to understand the "inputs" required for each task. Thus, without going into too much detail, a simple "landing" or "destination page" requires 13 elements to be created and checked. These are therefore 13 entry points to give to the machine.

Of course, before discovering them you have to have executed a lot.

A simple Technical Stack as part of our MVP for a powerful result!

Nothing faggoty! As we said... the beauty of Germinal is not the tool itself but the way it links what already exists to multiply its value tenfold! This allows us to manage today the production of about fifteen iterations simultaneously and it's perfectly scalable!

  • Asana for task management
  • Google Drive for storage of customer data
  • The Google API (a great friend of Maxime's)
  • Everhour to measure the time it takes to complete each task
  • Slack for team interaction
  • Google Analytics to centralize data
  • Google Tag Manager to automate tracking
  • Forrest Admin to reconcile data

Endgame

If we do, we will have created a true exoskeleton, a Go To Market Machine, enabling frictionless, streamlined and fast digital asset production. This is also why Germinal is not just an agency.

Chapitre 1 : Germinal, une organisation du travail millimétrée

Depuis quelques années une organisation véritablement rationalisée dans le domaine des services est possible dans le cadre de l’économie numérique.

Benjamin Gabay
Automation
growth machine

Ne pas réinventer l’existant

Chez Germinal, on se tue à ne pas réinventer ce qui existe déjà ! Notre but est de lier l’existant. On n’est pas Gutenberg (soit ! ), mais on procède de la même manière.

le procédé est neuf mais pas les matériaux

Fast Rewind : Il a mis au point un procédé qui a donné naissance à la typographie moderne et se distingue des anciennes méthodes par la rationalisation et l’harmonisation des diverses techniques. Pour cela, il ne fait “que” réutiliser des éléments qui existaient déjà ! En d’autres termes, le procédé est neuf mais pas les matériaux. C’est ainsi qu’il a introduit la presse à imprimer qui permet une impression uniforme et rapide !

Bref, c’est ça notre activité ! On optimise la production et pour ce faire on lie des éléments entre eux et cela de 2 manières :

  • Par une organisation millimétrée du travail
  • Par du software en liant exécution et méthodologie

Une organisation scientifique du travail comme cadre de pensée

Extrêmement pratique pour la structuration des chaînes de production, la mise en oeuvre d’une organisation scientifique du travail a notamment fait ses preuves le siècle dernier. On connaît surtout le taylorisme et le fordisme qui consacrent l’avènement de la production de masse de commodités physiques… Les effets direct du Taylorisme fûrent d’ailleurs l’augmentation des salaires permettant aux ouvriers de s’offrir la voiture qu’il produisait tout en diminuant leur temps de travail. On connait également et surtout ses effets délétères. C'est la raison pour laquelle il doit être dépassé.

Que s'apelorio Germinalisme 😆

Plus sérieusement, depuis quelques années une véritable organisation du travail dans le domaine des services est possible dans le cadre de l’économie numérique. Tous les produits numériques sont suffisamment puissants pour être connectés entre eux via des APIs et l’intelligence artificielle commence (juste) à être suffisante pour obtenir des résultats intéressants.

Germinal s’inscrit pleinement dans cette tendance. Nous ne voulons pas réinventer la roue, coder ce qui existe déjà (d’ailleurs c’est une fâcheuse tendance actuelle), nous souhaitons lier intelligemment des outils de production de sorte à :

  • surbooster la production de tests
  • garantir un standard de qualité.

C’est bien beau mais comment qu’on fait ?

Et bah on s’équipe et on exécute ! Comment ? En créant un exo-squelette numérique.

On s’équipe en créant un exo-squelette !

Pour s’équiper, on crée un exo-squelette. Ça c’est le rôle de Maxime — notre CTO — et son équipe. Son périmètre ? Automatiser ce qui est possible pour laisser plus de temps au temps de réflexion humain.

  • Création de site internet presque automatisé. Cette page, par exemple, est un exemple parfait d'une production Germinal. Elle a été réalisée en 13h. Cela inclut le design, le copywriting (le contenu) et l'intégration.  D'ici à la fin de l'année, notre ambition est de diviser par deux le temps de production. 
  • Lancement automatisé et structuré des publicités sur les régies pubs principales. 
  • Configuration automatisée des analytics et des points de conversion pour mesurer l’efficacité de nos actions
  • Réconciliation des données entre Analytics et les régies publicitaires pour le reporting. 
  • Création d’un système permettant de comprendre exactement les data-driven personae !
  • Création d’un "design system" pour obtenir des designs uniques et rapides sans retravailler en permanence des éléments identiques. Le but ici est de ne pas penser en "écrans" ou en "pages" mais en système de composants. On écrira un article spécialement là dessus !
  • Envoi des emails automatisé
  • Envoi de courriers offline séquencé et automatisé
  • etc.

Tout est actuellement en chantier, mais nous évaluons aujourd’hui les gains de vitesse à environ 8h sur un lancement de campagne facebook, 8h sur le reporting une dizaine d’heures sur la création de landing page et de design et 1h30 sur le tracking.

L’exosquelette sera fini dans sa première version à la fin de l’année.

Pour le client, c’est donc non seulement une accélération substantielle de son exécution, mais c’est aussi la garantie d’avoir un standard de qualité.

Nous estimons que l’exosquelette sera fini dans sa première version à la fin de l’année. Cette première version est intégralement construite dans un simple spreadsheet Google pour accélérer la production et rester agile. Il ne s’agit que d’un MVP.

On lie les automatisations

C’est là que Paco et sa team entrent en jeu. Son but ? Outre veiller à la bonne exécution de l’ensemble des prestations fournies par Germinal, son rôle est de comprendre les “entrées” (inputs) nécessaires à chaque tâche. Ainsi et sans trop rentrer dans le détail une simple “landing”, ou “page de destination” nécessite 13 éléments à créer et à vérifier. Ce sont donc 13 points d’entrées à donner à la machine.

Evidemment avant de les découvrir il faut avoir exécuté énormément.

Une Stack Technique simple dans le cadre de notre MVP pour un résultat puissant !

Rien de fifou ! Comme on l’a dit… la beauté de Germinal, ce n’est pas l’outil lui même mais sa façon de lier ce qui existe déjà pour décupler sa valeur ! Cela nous permet de gérer aujourd’hui la production d’une quinzaine d’itérations simultanément et c’est parfaitement scalable !

  • Asana pour la gestion des tâches
  • Google Drive pour le stockage des données clients
  • L’API Google (une grande copine de Maxime)
  • Everhour pour mesurer le temps que prend chaque tâche
  • Slack pour les interactions d’équipe
  • Google Analytics pour centraliser les données
  • Google Tag Manager pour automatiser le tracking
  • Forrest Admin pour réconcilier les données

Endgame

Si nous y arrivons, nous aurons créé un véritable exo-squelette, une Go To Market Machine, permettant une production d’assets numériques sans friction, rationalisée et rapide. C’est aussi pour cela que Germinal n’est pas qu’une simple agence.